A meeting held in Ballymena’s Summer Pavilion September 1948, by eight local football managers, saw the creation of The Ballymena and District Junior League. Once the committee was established and the office bearers duly elected the task of forming the league began.


It was decided to advertise, by means of a flyer, for applications from clubs to join, the only stipulations being they had to be within a twenty mile radius of Ballymena and be prepared to pay a Membership fee of 10 Shillings and a Guarantee fee of 21 Shillings. Twelve clubs approached the League and their applications were successful, namely:


·        Ahoghill

·        Connor

·        Cookstown Junction

·        Creavamoy

·        Cromkill

·        Cullybackey United

·        Galgorm

·        Harryville Amateurs

·        Moyola Park

·        Raceview United

·        Randalstown Youth Club

·        Summerfield Swifts


Rules were quickly drawn up and approved for the 1948-1949 season, in time for the first league games to be played on Saturday the 16th October 1948, and it was agreed that the League would affiliate to the Irish Football Association.





The league has been presented with several trophies over the years and this has allowed for cup competitions to be run alongside the regular league matches.


The Connon Cup and O’Gorman Cup date back to 1896, having been originally presented to the Ballymena Football Club and the Mid Antrim Football League respectively.


Name Changes and Intermediate Status


The League continued throughout the years at Junior Club level and at the Annual General Meeting of 1983 a decision was made to change the name to the Ballymena and District Premier League.


The Annual General Meeting of 1990 saw a major change for the League with the decision being made to apply to the Irish Football Association for Intermediate Status. Intermediate status was granted and the League was renamed Ballymena and Provincial Intermediate League.


The league has gone through many name changes and currently goes under Ballymena and Provincial Football League.


Ballymena and Provincial Football League Today


The League continues to successfully operate and has developed from 12 clubs playing at Junior level in 1948 to 11 clubs playing at Intermediate level and 42 clubs at Junior level in 2014.


The membership fee has risen from 10 shillings to 120 pounds and the guarantee fee from 21 shillings to 50 pounds.


Moyola Park, who won the League in 1948, is the last remaining club of the twelve original member clubs.